Chipu heading to Brazil for U20 World Cup

Kenya U20 Head Coach Paul Odera has named the squad travelling to Brazil on July 4 for the World Rugby Trophy Championship.

Chipu qualified for the tourney after lifting the Africa U20 Trophy in April at the KCB Sports Club after beating narrowly the defending Champions Namibia 21-18.

It will be the second time Odera’s charges will be featuring in this tournament, after hosting the tournament in 2009 at the  RFUEA Grounds.

The team has been in the camp since their qualification playing friendlies with Prescott cup select and Kenya Cup sides.

Odera has made three changes to the winning side that beat Namibia, Andrew Siminyu, Timothy Okwemba and John Okoth coming in for injured Beldad Ogeta and George Maranga who misses the tournament due to academic commitments.

Chipu will play Canada, 2008 winners Uruguay, the 2014 and 2017 champions Japan and hosts Brazil during their stay in Sao Paolo.

“Uruguay have been in this tournament for about seven consecutive years, Japan on paper seem to be the strongest team having been relegated from the U20 Championships.

“We have had video analysis sessions of this level or rugby, which the current team has not been exposed to before. The pace played by the teams in our pool is going to test us but we’re confident in our defense which is what got us through Namibia,” Odera said.

The first match day is Tuesday 9th July when Chipu faces Uruguay at 11:00pm EAT, on Sunday 14th July Chipu will meet the hosts, Brazil at 1:00am EAT before wrapping up their pool matches on Wednesday 17th July at 11:00pm EAT against Japan.

All the matches will be played at the Martins Pereira Stadium.


SQUAD: Ian Njenga (Nondescripts RFC), Bonface Ochieng (Kenya Harlequins)- Captain, Rotuk Rahedi (Millfield School), Emanuel Silungi (Menengai Cream Homeboyz), Hibrahim Ayoo (Menengai Oilers), James Mcgreevy (Kenya Harlequins), Brian Amaitsa (Nondies), Sheldon Kahi (Blakblad RC) Samuel Asati (KCB RC)-VC, Dominic Coulson (Unattached)-VC, Timothy Okwemba (MMUST), Owain Ashley (Merchiston Castle School), John Okoth (Top Fry Nakuru), Geoffrey Okwach (KCB RC), Jeff Mutuku (Kenya Harlequins), Wilfred Waswa (Northern Suburbs), Collins Obure (Blakblad RFC), Ian Masheti (Resolution Impala Saracens), Frank Aduda (Resolution Impala Saracens), George Kyriazi (Merchiston Castle School), Samuel Were (LaiserHill Academy), Barry Robinson (Kabras Sugar RFC), Douglas Kahuri (Kenya Harlequins), Michele Brighetti (Sedbergh School), Andrew Matoka (Strathmore Leos), Andrew Siminyu (Hillcrest School SA).


TECHNICAL TEAM: Paul Odera (Head Coach), Jimmy Mnene (Team Manager), Michael Owino (Strength and Conditioning Coach), Michael Aung (Forwards Coach), Kenny Andola (Backs Coach), Stephen Mankone (Team Physiotherapist), James Ondiege (Team Doctor), Edwin Boit (Team Analyst) Mweti Muriithi (Logistics and Operations Assistant)

-Material sourced from KRU