Chebet triumphs at Nairobi X-Country

Chebet triumphs at Nairobi X-Country

Former world youth silver medallist Sandrafelis Chebet braved challenging weather conditions to emerge top in the senior race at the Nairobi region Cross Country Championship held Saturday at the Posta Grounds along Ngong Road.

Despite competing in a muddy and waterlogged course owing to the huge rains experienced in the capital, Chebet stormed to an easy victory clocking 35:07 ahead of Caroline Gitonga (35:10) and Sammary Cherotich (37:15) who placed second and third respectively.

Chebet said she is now shifting her focus to the national championship slated for February 8 that will also double as trials for Africa Cross Country Championships slated for Lome, Togo.

“the race was good despite the difficult course I didn’t experience any challenge. We decided to surge forward with Gitonga and thereafter we controlled the pace of the race as nobody was closely trailing on us,” said Chebet.

The athlete based at Lemotit Athletics Camp in Londiani said she is itching to represent Kenya once again at the continental championship.

In the senior men’s race, Sila Kiptoo proved too strong for his competitors winning the race in 31:33 followed by Naibei Kiplimo who finished second in 31:58 as Joel Melly came home third in 32:07.

Joseph Waweru took top honours in the 8km junior men’s race clocking 24:47 with Jackson Kasaine timing 25:23 to finish second as Victor Chepkwony sealed the third spot in 25:38.

In the corresponding junior women’s race, Trizah Cherotich crossed the finish line in 21:56 ahead of Ann Naasisho who timed 22:08 with Hildah Chebet ranking third in 22:48.

Nairobi and Coast regions were the last to conduct their trails with the focus now shifting to the national championships which will be held next weekend at the Uhuru Gardens.

Kenya will be defending senior category titles as well as the junior men’s title at the biennial event in Togo.

At the last championship held in Algeria, Celliphine Chespol and Alfred Barkach bagged gold medals in the women’s and men’s senior races respectively while Rhonex Kipruto won gold in the junior men’s race.