Uhuru picks Eliud Kinuthia to replace Kavuludi

Uhuru picks Eliud Kinuthia to replace Kavuludi

Eliud Kinuthia has been nominated as chairman of the National Police Service Commission to replace Johnston Kavuludi.

National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi said the President is seeking approval of Kinuthia and five members of the commission.

They include Lilian Kiamba, Eusebius Karuti Laibuta, Naphtaly Kipchirchir Rono, Alice Atieno Otwala and John Tentemo Ole Moyaki.

“Honourable Members, section 6(6) of the National Police Service Commission Act requires the National Assembly to either approve or reject the nominees to the respective positions within twenty one (21) days, ” he said in a letter to the MPs.

NPSC is in charge of human resource management functions of the Police Service.

On Tuesday, the House Speaker noted that CVs of the nominees would be sent to the Departmental Committee on Administration and National Security for vetting.

He also directed the House team to inform the nominees  and the public where and when the approval hearings will be held.

The six-year tenure of the commission ended in October last year with the Business Daily newspaper reporting that Kenyans would pay Ksh.82.4million as service gratuity.

Inspector General of Police Joseph Boinnet is also expected to leave office in March this year after his four-year term ends.

Possible candidates for his replacement include deputy IGs Edward Njoroge Mbugua and Noor Gabbow, Philip Kameru (National Intelligence Service Director General) or George Kinoti (Director of Criminal Investigations).