Two named to succeed Issack Hassan as IEBC boss

Two named to succeed Issack Hassan as IEBC boss

The Selection Committee on the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has nominated lawyers Tunai ole Kina and Wanyonyi Wafula Chebukati for the position of the chairperson.

The names of the two were forwarded to President Uhuru Kenyatta who will now pick either of them for vetting by the National Assembly and subsequent appointment.

The picked appointee will take over from the current polls body chair, Ahmed Issack Hassan and will be tasked with the role of overseeing the August 8, 2017 General Election.

The two were among ten candidates who were interviewed by the Selection Panel. Others candidates who faced the panel include former Mombasa Mayor, Taib Ali Taib, former Law Society of Kenya (LSK) representative to the Judicial Service Commission (JSC), Florence Muoti Mwangangi, and lawyer Lucas Leperes Naikuni of Naikuni Ngaah & Miencha Co. Advocates.

Others included Roseline Odhiambo Odede, Kipropo David Malakwen, Margaret Wambui Ngugi Shava, David Mukii Mereka and Dr John Kangu Mutakha.

The Selection Panel also named nine persons for the commissioners’ posts.

They include Prof Kizito Okola Nyongesa, Zephaniah Okeyo Aura, Samuel Kimeu, Boya Molu, Consolata Nkatha Bucha, Roselyn Kwamboka Akombe, Margaret Wanjala Mwachanya, and Prof Abdi Yakub Guliye.