Tribunal appointed to probe Judge Jackton Ojwang sworn in

Tribunal appointed to probe Judge Jackton Ojwang sworn in

The tribunal appointed to probe suspended Supreme Court judge justice Jackton Ojwang is all set to commence proceedings after its members were sworn in on Monday.

The seven-member tribunal chaired by judge Alnashir Visram, their counsel and joint secretaries took oath of office at a short ceremony witnessed by Chief Justice David Maraga at the Supreme Court.

The tribunal was appointed by President Uhuru Kenyatta last week to investigate allegations of misconduct, impropriety, conflict of interest and breach of the judicial code of conduct by Justice Ojwang.

“This is an important constitutional responsibility to which we have been assigned… And on behalf of my team I simply want to commit to the people of Kenya,” said Justice Visram.

Members of the tribunal include Justice Visram, retired judge Festus Azangalala, Ambrose Weda, Andrew Bahati Mwamuye, Lucy Kambuni, Sylvia Wanjiku Muchiri and Amina Abda.

Lawyers Paul Nyamodi and Stella Munyi have been appointed as Counsel to assist the Tribunal appointed to investigate Ojwang’s conduct.

Mr. Peter Kariuki and Josiah Musili will be the Joint Secretaries to the tribunal.

The tribunal will now organize hearings for complainants and the accused to defend themselves before presenting their report.

The Judicial Service Commission (JSC) wrote to President Kenyatta recommending the formation of a tribunal to investigate Justice Ojwang following a petition filed by one Nelson Oduor Onyango and eight others.

In the petition, Justice Ojwang is alleged to have benefited from the construction of a road leading to his rural house in Migori County, after issuing a favourable ruling in a Sony Sugar belt case that Governor Okoth Obado supposedly had interests in.

Justice Ojwang remains suspended until conclusion of the probe on his conduct.