Storm over Jubilee-KANU coalition & Senate changes as Kihika-led team cries foul

Storm over Jubilee-KANU coalition & Senate changes as Kihika-led team cries foul

22 senators led by ex-Majority Whip Susan Kihika have written to the senate speaker Kenneth Lusaka protesting the changes made to the Jubilee Senate leadership.

The senators have also rejected the new formed Jubilee and KANU coalition saying it was not sanctioned by Jubilee’s NEC as required by the party’s laws.

In letter dated May 11, the senators opposed the removal of Majority Leader and Majority Whip claiming the changes were made without regard to the standing order 19 that requires half of all the senators to be present at the removal.

The senators included; Kipchumba Murkomen, Susan Kihika, Araon Cheruiyot, Millicent Omanga, Samson Cherargei, Christopher Langat, Michael Mbito, Mahamud Mohamed, Juma Wario, Mary Senata, Phillip Mpaayei, Alice Milgo, Victor Prengei, Kithure Kindiki, Mithika Linturi, Stephen Lelegwe, Margaret Kamar, Iman Falhada, Naomi Waqo, Anwar Loitiptip, John Kinyua and Christine Wawudi.

The standing order 19 in question would require 18 out of the 35 Jubilee senators to vote for a removal of the two.

The senators now claim that none of them received any official invitation to the meeting whose agenda was to remove Senators Susan Kihika and Kipchumba Murkomen.

“As Jubilee party senators, we did not receive any formal invitation for any meeting with an agenda to discuss the removal of senate Majority Leader and the Senate Majority Whip,” the letter reads.

At the same time, they accused Jubilee leadership of trying to create factions within the ruling party by making illegal changes.

“To the president, We cannot lead the country through forgery. You cannot forge the signatures of our colleagues. 4 choppers have been dispatched to airlift some senators whose signatures have been forged,” Murkomen said in a press conference after his ouster.

The letter further maintains that Senator Susan Kihika and Senator Murkomen will remain as Senate Majority Leader and the Senate Majority Whip until the due process is followed.

On Monday, President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee party kicked out Ruto allies in new changes made to the Jubilee senate.

KANU’s West Pokot Senator Samuel Poghisio replaced Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen as the Majority leader in the Senate.

Poghisio is to be deputised by Isiolo Senator Fatuma Dillo.

Senator Susan Kihika was also replaced as Majority Whip by Murang’a senator Irungu Kang’ata who will be deputised by nominated senator Farhiya Ali.

The new changes come just a day after President Uhuru Kenyatta summoned a senate parliamentary group meeting at State House.