Sports is our unifying factor as Kenyans – DP William Ruto

Sports is our unifying factor as Kenyans – DP William Ruto

Deputy President William Ruto has acknowledged the significance of sports as a unifying factor.

Ruto congratulated the Kenyan team that competed in the just concluded World Athletics Champions in Beijing China for their exceptional performance.

The Deputy President noted that the team has done the country proud and stamped Kenya’s authority as a sporting powerhouse both at the continent and global scene.

“I want to congratulate all our athletes for their remarkable performance,” said Ruto when he hosted the team for breakfast at his Karen office.

He further stated that it was through sporting activities that all the Kenya’s ethnic communities could be brought together.

“Our success and our win has brought us together as people of this great country called Kenya that we should be proud of,” added the Deputy President.

“They have made into Athletics history, for the first time Kenya has become number one, Kenyans are ecstatic about the team, it shows magical Kenya, a land of opportunities,.”

Earlier, the triumphant Kenyan team to World Athletics Championships arrived in the country Tuesday morning to a tumultuous reception from thousands of Kenyans led by Ruto.

The team emerged first overall in the championships held in Beijing, China after scooping 16 medals, 7 old, 6 silver and 3 bronze beating heavy weights including the U.S., Jamaica, Canada and perennial African rivals Ethiopia.

The team was treated to a VIP reception before being driven in limousines to the Deputy President’s residence in Karen.

The Deputy President said he was at hand to welcome on behalf of President Kenyatta who could not make it to the airport due to other commitments.

He announced that President Uhuru Kenyatta will host the team for a National State breakfast on Thursday.

Present at the breakfast was Sports Cabinet Secretary Hassan Wario, Governors Cleopas Langat (Nandi) Jackson Mandago (Uasin- Gishu), Senators Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo/ Marakwet) Mike Mbuvi ‘Sonko’ (Nairobi) and MPs Ferdinand Waititu (Kabete) Johnson Sakaja (nominated) among others.

latest stories