Ruto says opposition leaders are ‘serial liars’ out to con Kenyans

Ruto says opposition leaders are ‘serial liars’ out to con Kenyans

Deputy President William Ruto has said propaganda and lies driven by the opposition would not stop Jubilee from serving Kenyans.

He termed their criticism of government projects as noise aimed at slowing down realisation of Jubilee programs and creating a 2022 political card.

“They are after tearing apart the Jubilee party and derail its development projects so that it becomes a campaign bait,” said Dr Ruto.

The Deputy President said the political cons roaming around Kenya were well known, and so are their under-the-table games.

“They are serial liars whom Kenyans cannot believe in. Our plans on matters development will not be undermined by leaders who want to demean the Jubilee track record,” he added.

Dr Ruto said Kenyans would not stomach the fake promises of politicians “who broke KANU, NASA, Cord and now were after finishing Jubilee”, adding that the country would not be taken back to the politics of division and hate.

“That is why we will protect our party, and our programs.”

He spoke on Saturday in West Pokot and Elgeyo Marakwet counties during various meetings with wananchi.

On his part, Senator Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet) said they would work tirelessly to show Kenyans who the real enemy of unity is.

He argued that the handshake was a one-man show with a plan to divide Jubilee.

“If it is true that the opposition is for unity, then we want ODM to announce that the handshake would be for everyone. But if it is meant to fight one politician, that hypocrisy will be fought ruthlessly,” said Mr Murkomen.

The DP was also accompanied by Governors John Lonyangapuo and Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho); MPs Caleb Kositany (Soy), Nelson Koech (Belgut), Samuel Moroto (Kapenguria), Kwenya Thuku (Kinangop), Lilian Cheptoo (West Pokot Women Rep), Mark Lomunokol (Kacheliba) and David Pkosin (Pokot South).

Others were Peter Lochkapong (Sigor), David Pkosing (Pokot South), Dominic Kosgei (Sotik), Hillary Kosgei (Kipkelion West), Kangogo Bowen (Marakwet East) and William Kisang (Marakwet West).

latest stories