Oscar Sudi has never spoken in the National Assembly since 2017 – report

Oscar Sudi has never spoken in the National Assembly since 2017 – report

Kapseret Member of Parliament Oscar Sudi and his Nakuru Town West counterpart Samuel Arama have made zero contributions in the National Assembly since 2017.

This is according to a Parliamentary Scorecard released on Wednesday morning by Mzalendo Trust, a Parliamentary Monitoring Organization (PMO).

The organization raised concerns about the two legislators who have consistently failed to make contribution at the plenary saying their performance undermines the role of the House.

The report also revealed that the legislative output of the 3rd Session of the 12th Parliament was low compared to other sessions with a record number of 21 legislators making no contribution in 2019.

Two out of the 21 were from the Senate while the remaining 19 were from the National Assembly, out of whom 16 were men.

These silent male MPs include Abdi Tepo (Isiolo South), Abdi Shurie (Balambala), Ahmed Gaal (Tarbaj), Johnson Naicca (Mumias West), Amin Deddy (Laikipia East) Geofrey Kingagi (Mbeere South), James Gakuya (Embakasi North), George Aladwa (Makadara), John Owino (Awendo), Oscar Sudi (Kapseret), Stanley Muthama (Lamu West), Gideon Konchella (Kilgoris), Justus Kizito (Shinyalu), Samuel Arama (Nakuru Town West), Alfred Sambu (Webuye East) and James Mukwe (Kabuchai).

Rose Museo (Makueni), Beatrice Kones (Bomet East) and Amina Gedow (Mandera) were the three silent women MPs in the House.

Mzalendo Trust ranked the best performing male MPs at the National Assembly as David Sankok (Nominated), Wilberforce Ojiambo (Funyula), Robert Pukose (Endebess) and Benson Makali (Kitui Central).

Their female counterparts were Millie Odhiambo, Jacqueline Oduol (Nominated), Jennifer Shamala (Nominated), Ruweida Obo (Lamu) and Sophia Noor (Ijara).

The leading voices at the Senate were Ledama Ole Kina (Narok), Moses Wetangula (Bungoma), Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho), Ochilo Ayako (Migori) and Getrude Musuruve (Nominated).

Likewise, the silent Senators were Mercy Chebeni (Nominated), Christine Zawadi (Nominated), Phulip Mpaayei (Kajiado), Halima Abdille (Nominated) and Amos Wako (Busia).

According to the report, the aggregate performance of the 12th Parliament’s 3rd Session, measured against previous sessions was the lowest.

“Of the 116 Bills passed in the National Assembly only 24 were assented to, translating to about 21%, the lowest in five years. The Senate passed a total of 34 Bills out of which only 4 were assented to, translating to only 12%,” read the report.

“An analysis by counties shows the top 5 performing counties (aggregated contributions of MPs from each County) to be Homa Bay, Trans Nzoia, Kericho, West Pokot and Bungoma in that order. Conversely, the bottom five counties are Garissa, Tana River, Turkana, Kwale and Narok.”

It further added: “In terms of committee work, the National Assembly had a total of 1211 committee sittings in 2019, while the Senate had approximately 505 sittings.”

latest stories