Matiang’i imposes curfew in Lamu, Garissa and Tana River

Matiang’i imposes curfew in Lamu, Garissa and Tana River

Acting Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i has imposed a dusk-to-dawn curfew in Lamu, Tana River and Garissa counties.

Dr Matiang’i imposed the curfew on Saturday following a series of deadly attacks by suspected Al-Shabaab militants in the three counties.

On Friday, nine men were beheaded by the Islamist militants in Pandanguo in Lamu County barely a week after they ambushed the Pandanguo Police Station killing two police officers and injuring several others.

Dr Matiang’i, who has been appointed by President Uhuru Kenyatta to take over the security docket following  sudden death of the late Cabinet Secretary Joseph Nkaissery on Saturday, said the curfew shall be observed 6.30pm and 6.30am.

The curfew will apply in several pats of the counties and surrounding environs which have been gazetted as disturbed and dangerous areas including: Sangailu, Masalani, Holugho Border Point, Galmagala, Bodehei, Milimani, Baure, Basuba, Mangai and Maralani.

Other areas include Garsen, Kipini, Kiunga Ijara, Hola, and Ishakani/ Dar-es-Salaam Border Point.

On Saturday, while mourning the death of the late Interior CS Nkaissery, President Kenyatta assured Kenyans that the country is safe despite the series of deadly assaults which have been targeting security officers and now have been escalated to target civilians as well.

Dr Matiang’i, who has proved his mettle in the Education ministry where he is praised for eradicating exam cheating menace, is expected to take his no-nonsense approach to the security docket with less than a month to the election.

latest stories