Kagwe: 400,000 health workers to be vaccinated starting Friday

Kagwe: 400,000 health workers to be vaccinated starting Friday

Health CS Mutahi Kagwe has said phase one of the COVID-19 vaccination will begin on Friday and is targeting over 400,000 health workers as well as those in other essential services.

In a statement to the Press on Wednesday, the CS explained that the COVID-19 vaccine will be rolled out on a priority bases in three phases.

“The targeted population to be covered in this first phase remains 1.25miIlion and does not include politicians as was erroneously reported in a section of the media today (Wednesday),” he said.

The CS stated that the vaccines will be distributed to referral hospitals countrywide including level fours and threes and the national government is working with the county governments to ensure seamless operation.

With regards to the COVID-19 situation in Kenya, 331 people tested positive in the last 24 hours out of a sample size of 4,725.

The country’s coronavirus caseload now stands at 106,801 with cumulative tests so far conducted at 1,311,326.

From the latest cases, 301 are Kenyans while 30 are foreigners: 195 are males and 136 are females. The youngest is a seven-month-old baby while the oldest is 82.

54 patients have since recovered from the disease: 44 from the Home Based and Isolation Care while 10 are from various health facilities. Total recoveries now stand at 86,914.

Three patients succumbed to the disease pushing cumulative fatalities to 1,866.

A total of 403 patients are currently admitted in various health facilities countrywide, while 1,536 patients are on Home Based Isolation and Care.

61 patients are in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU), 24 of whom are on ventilatory support and 28 on supplemental oxygen. 9 patients are under observation.

Another 16 patients are separately on supplementary oxygen all of whom are in the general wards. No patient is in the High Dependency Unit (HDU).

In terms of county distribution, Nairobi reported 196 cases, Kiambu 46, Nakuru 16, Busia 13, Mombasa 13, Uasin Gishu 11, Kericho 5, Machakos 5, Nyandarua 4, Turkana 4, Kajiado 3, Kisumu 3, Lamu 2, Makueni 3, Murang’a 1, Nyeri 1, Tharaka Nithi 1, Baringo 1, Bungoma 1, Elgeyo Marakwet 1, Kisii 1 and Embu 1.

In terms of sub county distribution, the 196 cases in Nairobi are from Kamukunji (23), Starehe (22), Kibra (21), Dagoretti North (18), Lang’ata (17), Westlands (15), Kasarani (11), Dagoretti South, Makadara and Ruaraka (10) cases each, Mathare (8), Roysambu (7), Embakasi Central and Embakasi East (6) cases each, Embakasi North, Embakasi South and Embakasi West (4) cases each.

In Kiambu the 46, cases are from Limuru (22), Ruiru (11), Kiambu Town (4), Kabete, Kiambaa and Kikuyu (2) cases each, Githunguri, Juja and Thika (1) case each. In Nakuru the 16 cases are from Nakuru West (7), Naivasha (4), Nakuru East (3) and Gilgil (2).

In Busia the 13 cases are from Matayos (12) and Teso North (1). In Mombasa the 13 cases are from Mvita (5), Jomvu and Nyali (3) cases each, Kisauni (2).

In Uasin Gishu the 11 cases are from Ainabkoi (5), Kapseret (3), Turbo (2) and Moiben (1). In Kericho all the 5 cases are from Ainamoi. In Machakos the 5 cases are from Matungulu (4) and Machakos Town (1).

In Nyandarua the 4 cases are all from Kinangop while in Turkana all the 4 cases are from Turkana West. In Kajiado the 3 cases are from Kajiado North, while in Kisumu the 3 cases are all from Kisumu Central.

In Lamu the 2 cases are all from Lamu West while in Makueni the 2 cases are from Kilome and Makueni (1) case each.

The case in Murang’a is from Mathioya, the case in Nyeri is from Nyeri South, the case in Tharaka Nithi is from Chuka, the case in Baringo is from Baringo North, the case in Bungoma is from Kanduyi, the case in Elgeyo Marakwet is from Keiyo North, the case in Kisii is from Kitutu Chache South and the case in Embu is from Manyatta.