IEBC commissioners to stay in office past Sept. 30 exit date

IEBC commissioners to stay in office past Sept. 30 exit date

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and the government have agreed on a deferred date for the vacation of commissioners from office.

The decision was reached after a meeting between the government, represented by National Treasury Principal Secretary, Kamau Thugge, and IEBC, represented by its chair Ahmed Issack Hassan and commissioners Abdullahi Sharawe, Thomas Letangule and Albert Bwire, held at Harambee House in Nairobi on Wednesday, September 28.

In a statement to newsrooms, Government Spokesman, Eric Kiraithe, said that both parties have noted the urgency of the matter and the need for a “seamless, lawful and timely transition at the IEBC.”

“The meeting was marked by a spirit of patriotism, mutuality and goodwill.  The IEBC delegation reiterated their undertaking to the nation to vacate from office as soon as possible, for the sake of the country,” said Kiraithe.

“Both parties noted that the new Elections (Amendment) Act 2016 only takes effect on 4th of October, 2016 and the IEBC commissioners cannot resign before then.”

While no figures were agreed upon, Kiraithe said, both sides tabled initial offers which IEBC chair, Ahmed Issack Hassan, will discuss with all the commissioners in a special plenary meeting on Thursday to be followed by a meeting between the commission and the government in the afternoon to carry on with negotiations.

He reiterated the government’s commitment to see through the process and ensure the transition takes place in accordance with the law.

Several leaders, including CORD leader, Raila Odinga, and Narc Kenya leader, Martha Karua, have castigated Jubilee over apparent laxity to effect the transition claiming the move will affect planning for the next elections.

latest stories