IEBC Clears 11 Aspirants to Vie in Kabete Mini Polls

The mini-poll set for May 4, 2015 were necessitated by the sudden demise of area MP George Muchai who was shot dead along Nairobi’s Kenyatta Avenue under unclear circumstances.

The 11 include former Embakasi MP and Jubilee Alliance Party (JAP) candidate Ferdinand Waititu, Wilson Karanja of Orange Democratic Movement, Safina's John Wamagata, Kenya's Kavore Kimani and DP's Kiriro Ngugi among other independent candidates.

Waititu has been touted as the hot favourite due to the support he is receiving from ruling coalition party JAP.


Accompanied by Thika MP Alice Ng’ang’a, Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa and six other MPs after submitting his nomination papers at the IEBC, Waititu addressed gatherings at Wangige market hitting out at the county governor William Kabogo’s leadership for increasing levies and relocating the county headquarters.

The former Embakasi MP, who has expressed interest in vying for the Kiambu gubernatorial position in the 2017 elections, told Governor Kabogo to lower business levies and relocate the headquarters back to Kiambu Town from Thika.

Other MPs who accompanied Waititu on the road are Jude Njomo (Kiambu town), Kigo Njenga (Gatundu North), Chege Kiragu (Limuru), Esther Gathogo (Ruiru), Francis Munyua (Juja) and Denis Wareru (Dagoretti South).


By Benjamin Wafula

latest stories