Former MP Dalmas Otieno ditches Migori Senate race for SRC job

Former MP Dalmas Otieno ditches Migori Senate race for SRC job

Former Rongo Member of Parliament Dalmas Otieno has abandoned his quest for the Migori senatorial seat, opting to settle for an appointment to the Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC) instead.

Mr. Otieno had previously announced his candidacy for the Migori Senatorial race on a National Liberal Party (NLP) ticket.

Speaking to Citizen Digital, Mr Otieno says he opted to accept President Uhuru Kenyatta’s offer for the SRC job which means he will not be on the ballot.

“Both jobs have the same public mandate and there is no way I was going to say no to President Uhuru Kenyatta’s offer,” says Mr. Otieno.

“Remember I have a personal connection to SRC because I was the one who established it as Minister for Public Service to help manage the public wage bill and I am honoured to be back,” said Mr. Otieno.

Speaking to Radio Ramogi, NLP Secretary General Ishmael Omondi Oyoo confirmed that his party boss had bolted out of the race and decided to take up his appointment at the SRC.

Dalmas Otieno, alongside eight others – led by Lynn Cherop as chairperson – have been nominated to the SRC and are set to undergo vetting by the Departmental Committee on Finance and National Planning on Tuesday, August 21, and Wednesday, August 22.

Mr. Oyoo said the former legislator had opted for the SRC job after consulting widely with the party as well as other leaders.

“The official position is that he (Mr. Otieno) has withdrawn from the race,” said Oyoo.

“Having considered so many factors and having received the invitation from the President, our candidate will not be on the ballot.”

Mr. Otieno’s exit now leaves six candidates to battle it out for the Migori Senatorial race.

Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party candidate Dr, Ochillo Ayacko as well as Dickson Ogola, an independent candidate, were on Thursday cleared by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission  (IEBC) Returning Officer Ruth Kulundu.

Other candidates expected to present their nomination papers to IEBC include; Solomon Hodo (PDP), Paul Odhiambo Odongo (Kenya National Congress) and Samwel Otieno (Independent candidate).