Drama as Jubilee kicks out rebels Keter, Tiren, Bowen

Drama as Jubilee kicks out rebels Keter, Tiren, Bowen

Jubilee Party legislators Tuesday ousted members deemed as rebels from four parliamentary committees.

This comes as three parliamentary departmental committees held meetings at county hall to pass a vote of no confidence on three other Jubilee rebel MPs including Moiben MP Silas Tiren, David Bowen of Marakwet East and Emgwen legislator Alex Kosgey.

In the Parliamentary Committee on Labour and Social Welfare, a bitter exchange ensued as Nandi MP Alfred Keter took on his Jubilee colleagues after Nominated Member of Parliament David Ole Sankok moved a motion of no confidence against him and his vice-chair, Catherine Wambilianga.

The two were eventually voted out with Sankok arguing that due process was not followed in the election of Keter as the committee chair.

However, Keter, who had the backing of opposition lawmakers among them Wilson Sossion and Nyatike Member of Parliament Tom Odege termed the grounds in the motion as illegal, adding that it sets a bad precedence for parliamentary committees.

“It’s unfortunate to see an independent Parliament being muzzled by one arm of government. What is being done, what we are going through, we might be seen as small people but we are presiding over the collapse of Parliament,” said an agitated Keter.

Sossion also termed the process of Keter’s removal as reckless and unconstitutional.

“This is super manipulation and it will affect our harmony in our workings. I have confidence in the chair and the vice chair and they have not even been allowed to perform their duties. The motion is defiling the independence of the House,” said Sossion.

“It is shocking to come back and discus issues that are not related to this committee. It’s the lowest moment for me,” added Odenge.

Moiben MP Silas Tiren was voted out as the chairperson of the National Assembly’s Agriculture and Livestock Committee while Marakwet East MP Kangogo Bowen was ousted as vice chair of Environment and Natural Resources in a 10 against 1 vote.

National Assembly Majority Leader Aden Duale earlier on moved to defend the move by Jubilee MPs to oust rebels from House teams’ leadership saying that the action is not personal but is based on the principle of equity and inclusivity.

According to Standing Order 193 (1), a committee may, by a resolution supported by a majority of its members resolve that it has no confidence in the chair person or vice chair.

The National Super Alliance, through Minority Whip Junet Mohamed, had written to all members of the opposition sitting in all the four committees asking them to boycott today’s committee sessions.

However, some of the opposition lawmakers did not heed to the call, which was meant to push for a quorum hitch and stall the process to oust the legislators.