COVID-19: Kenya records 335 new cases, 340 recoveries, 8 deaths

COVID-19: Kenya records 335 new cases, 340 recoveries, 8 deaths

The Ministry of Health on Thursday announced that 335 people tested positive for COVID-19 from a sample size of 5,424 tested in the last 24 hours, bringing to 97,733 the number of confirmed infections in the country.

From the cases, 307 are Kenyans while 28 are foreigners; 233 are males and 102 are females while the youngest is a one-year-old infant and the oldest is 94.

Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe, in a statement to the press, said 340 patients recovered from the coronavirus – 261 being from the Home Based Care Program while 79 were discharged from various hospitals – taking total recoveries to 80,306.

CS Kagwe however noted that 8 patients succumbed to the disease, pushing the cumulative COVID-19 fatalities to 1,702.

Distribution of the cases by counties is as follows: Nairobi 102, Meru 46, Makueni 40, Nyeri 19, Kajiado 14, Embu 13, Mombasa 12, Kiambu 11, Nakuru 9, Migori 9, Nyandarua 9, Busia 9, Samburu 8, Kirinyaga 6, Machakos 5, Kitui 4, Turkana 4, Laikipia 3, Uasin Gishu 3, Siaya 3, Kilifi 2, Marsabit 1, Narok 1, Murang’a 1 and Taita Taveta 1.

In Nairobi, the 102 cases are from Lang’ata (17), Dagoretti North (16), Starehe and Westlands (10) cases each, Kibra (8), Makadara (6), Embakasi Central and Kamukunji (5) cases each, Embakasi South (4), Embakasi East, Embakasi West, Kasarani, Mathare and Roysambu (3) cases each, Dagoretti South, Embakasi North and Ruaraka (2) cases each.

In Meru, the 46 cases are from Igembe Central (41) and Imenti North (5). In Makueni, the 40 cases are from Makueni (33) and Kibwezi East (7). In Nyeri, the 19 cases are Nyeri Central (18) and Mathira East (1).

In Kajiado, the 14 cases are from Kajiado East (11), Kajiado Central (2) and Kajiado North (1). In Embu, the 13 cases are from Runyenjes (9) and Manyatta (4).

In Mombasa, the 12 cases are from Jomvu, Kisauni and Mvita (3) cases each, Changamwe, Likoni and Nyali (1) case each. In Kiambu, the 11 cases are from Thika (5), Kikuyu (3), Kiambu Town (2) and Juja (1).

In Nakuru, the 9 cases are from Naivasha (3), Nakuru West (2), Kuresoi North, Molo, Nakuru North and Njoro (1) case each.

In Migori, the 9 cases are from Rongo (4), Kuria West (3) and Suna East (2). In Nyandarua, the 9 cases are from 01 Kalou (8) and Kinangop (1).

In Busia, the 9 cases are from Teso North (7) and Matayos (2). In Samburu, all the 8 cases are from Samburu Central. In Kirinyaga, all the 6 cases are from Kirinyaga Central.

In Machakos, the 5 cases are from Kangundo (3) and Athi River (2). In Kitui, the 4 cases are from Kitui Central and Kitui West (2) cases each. In Turkana, all the 4 cases are from Turkana West.

The 3 cases in Laikipia, are from Laikipia West, the 3 cases in Uasin Gishu, are all from Ainabkoi and the 3 cases in Siaya, are all from Alego Usonga.

In Kilifi, all the 2 cases are from Kilifi North. The case in Marsabit, is from Saku, the case in Narok, is from Narok North, the case in Murang’a is from Kangema and the case in Taita Taveta, is from Voi.