COVID-19: Four doctors among 21 dead in 24 hours as 1,080 new cases confirmed

COVID-19: Four doctors among 21 dead in 24 hours as 1,080 new cases confirmed

Four medical doctors are among 21 people who have succumbed to COVID-19 within the last 24 hours, the Ministry of Health confirmed on Saturday. This takes the country’s total fatality to 1,249.

Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe, in a statement to the press, said 1,080 people tested positive for the coronavirus from a sample size of 8,322, bringing to 69,273 the number of confirmed infections in Kenya.

From the cases 1,066 are Kenyans and 14 foreigners; 687 are males and 393 females, with the youngest being an 11-month old infant and the oldest 100 years of age.

CS Kagwe also stated that 542 patients recovered from the disease – 262 from the Home-Based Care Program while 280 were discharged from various hospitals – taking total recoveries to 45,414.

“A total of 1,185 patients are admitted in various health facilities countrywide, while 5,794 are on Home Based Isolation and Care. 58 patients are in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU), 23 of whom are on ventilatory support, and 30 on supplemental oxygen,” read the statement.

“Another 90 patients are separately on supplementary oxygen out of whom 75 are in the general wards, while 15 are in the High Dependency Unit (HDU).”

Distribution of the 1,080 cases by counties is as follows: Nairobi 216, Mombasa 163, Nakuru 103, Kilifi 64, Baringo 60, Machakos 57, Kisumu 56, Bungoma 41, Uasin Gishu 41, Kiambu 30, Turkana 30, Migori 28, Busia 23, Kajiado 21, Kakamega 20, Kisii 18, Kericho 16, Nyamira 16, Nandi 15, Nyeri 12, Tharaka Nithi 12, Meru 8, Trans Nzoia 8, Siaya 5, Samburu 4, Narok 3, Kirinyaga 1, Taita Taveta 1, Laikipia 1, Murang’a 1, Nyandarua 1, Vihiga Kwale 1, Wajir 1, Elgeyo Marakwet 1 and Bomet 1.

The 216 cases in Nairobi are from Lang’ata (51), Kasarani (22), Dagoretti North (19), Embakasi Central (16), Westlands (15), Embakasi West and Kamukunji (14) cases each, Embakasi East, Makadara and Mathare (10) cases each, Embakasi North, Embakasi South and Starehe (6) cases each, Kibra and Roysambu (5) cases each, Dagoretti South (4) and Ruaraka (3).

In Mombasa, the 163 cases are from Mvita (59), Nyali (34), Changamwe (19), Likoni (18), Jomvu (17) and Kisauni (16). In Nakuru, the 103 cases are from Nakuru East (40), Nakuru West (25), Rongai (10), Nakuru North (9), Naivasha (7), Njoro (5), Moto (4), Gilgit, Kuresoi North and Kuresoi South (1) case each.

In Kilifi, the 64 cases are from Magarini (51), Kaloleni (9), Kilifi North and Rabai (2) cases each. In Baringo, the 60 cases are from Baringo Central (54), Marigat (3), Mogotio (2) and Baringo North (1).

In Machakos, the 57 cases are from Machakos Town (31), Athi River (14), Kangundo (7), Masinga (2), Kalama, Mwala and Yatta (1) case each. In Kisumu, the 56 cases are from Kisumu Central (50), Nyando (3), Kisumu East (2) and Muhoroni (1).

In Bungoma, all the 41 cases are from Kanduyi. In Uasin Gishu, the 41 cases are from Ainabkoi (23), Turbo (10), Kapseret (6), Moiben and Soy (1) case each. In Kiambu, the 30 cases are from Ruiru (10), Kiambu Town and Kikuyu (4) cases each, Limuru (3), Gatundu North, Kabete, Kiambaa and Thika (2) cases each, Githunguri (1).

In Turkana, the 30 cases are from Turkana Central (29) and Turkana West (1). In Migori, the 28 cases are from Suna East (10), Rongo (6), Awendo (5), Kuria West (4), Nyatike, Suna West and Uriri (1) case each.

In Busia, the 23 cases are from Matayos (19), Samia (2), Butula and Nambale (1) case each. In Kajiado, the 21 cases are from Kajiado North (17), Kajiado East and Loitokitok (2) cases each. In Kakamega, the 20 cases are from Lurambi (9), Mumias West (4), Shinyalu (3), Lugari (2), Khwisero and Malaya (1) case each.

In Kisii, all the 18 cases are from Kitutu Chache South. In Kericho, all the 16 cases are from Ainamoi. In Nyamira, the 16 cases are from Nyamira North (9), Manga (3), Borabu and Masaba North (2) cases each.

In Nandi, the 15 cases are from Emgwen (8), Mosop (5) and Chesumei (2). In Nyeri, the 12 cases are from Mathira East (6), Nyeri Central (4) and Mukurweini (2). In Tharaka Nithi, the 12 cases are from Chuka (10) and Tharaka South (2).

In Meru, all the 8 cases are from Imenti North, while in Trans Nzoia the 8 cases are from Kiminini (5), Cherangany, Kwanza and Saboti (1) case each. In Siaya, the 5 cases are from Alego Usonga and Rarieda (2) cases each and Gem (1).

In Samburu all the 4 cases are from Samburu Central, while in Narok, all the 3 cases are from Narok North. The case in Kirinyaga is from Kirinyaga Central, the case in Taita Taveta is from Voi, and the case in Laikipia is from Laikipia East.

The case in Murang’a is from Kiharu, the case in Nyandarua is from Kinangop, the case in Vihiga is from Luanda, the case in Kwale is from Msambweni, the case in Wajir is from Wajir East, the case in Elgeyo Marakwet is from Keiyo North and the case in Bomet is from Bomet East.