Bomet County Executives jobless after Joyce Laboso’s death

Bomet County Executives jobless after Joyce Laboso’s death

Bomet County Executive Committee (CECs) members appointed by the late Governor Dr. Joyce Laboso have been rendered jobless following her death on Monday, July 29.

The fate of the nine CECs is now in the hands of the Deputy Governor, Hillary Barchok, who is set to succeed Dr. Laboso for the remaining period until the next General Election.

Bomet CECs include; Justus K. Maina (ICT & Public Service), Andrew Kimutai Sigei (Finance), Justus K. Tuei (Agriculture), Benson Kiplangat Sang (Environment), Joseph Kipruto Ngeno (Medical Services & Public Health), Juliana Yegon (Education), Daisy Chelagat Rono (Land), Philip Kipngeno Sowek (Transport), Bernard Kipkorir Ng’eno (Youth, Gender, Sports).

Article 179 of the Constitution stipulates that if a vacancy arises in the office of the county governor, the members of the county executive committee appointed by the immediate former Governor cease to hold office.

“If a vacancy occurs in the office of county governor, the deputy county governor shall assume office as county governor for the remainder of the term of the county governor,” reads Article 182(2) of the Constitution.

Upon being sworn in as the new Governor, the deputy is at liberty to retain the county executives or make new appointments.

If retained, the county executive committee members will be required to take a fresh oath of office.

A similar scenario was witnessed in Nyeri County after the late governor Wahome Gakuru died in a road accident on November 7, 2017.

The then Deputy Governor Mutahi Kahiga, who is the current Nyeri Governor, chose to retain all the nine CECs who had been appointed by the late Dr. Gakuru.

Still in Nyeri County, when the first Governor Nderitu Gachagua died on February 24, 2017 at a hospital in London, his deputy Ambassador Samuel Wamathai who took over did not bring in new faces but retained the existing Cabinet.

latest stories