26 more patients dead as Kenya records 1,216 new COVID-19 cases

26 more patients dead as Kenya records 1,216 new COVID-19 cases

Twenty-six more patients have succumbed to the coronavirus disease in Kenya raising the death toll to 1,180.

At the same time 1,216 people have tested positive for the virus, from a sample size of 6,816 tested in the last 24 hours, bringing to 65,804 the number of confirmed positive cases in the country.

“From the cases 1,174 are Kenyans and 42 are foreigners. In terms of gender 726 are males and 490 females. The youngest is an eleven-month old baby, while the oldest is 99,” said the Health Ministry in a statement issued on Wednesday.

A total of 1,289 patients are admitted in various health facilities countrywide, while 5,960 are on Home Based Isolation and Care. 57 patients are in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU), 18 of whom are on ventilatory support and 34 on supplemental oxygen. Another 86 patients are separately on supplementary oxygen out of whom 68 are in the general wards, while 18 are in the High Dependency Unit (HDU).

Today, 531 patients have recovered from the disease, 382 from the Home-Based Care Program, while 149 have been discharged from various hospitals. Total recoveries now stand at 43,626.

“To date there are 2,148 healthCare workers who have tested positive for the virus. 1,087 are males and 1,061 females. Unfortunately, we have also lost 23 healthcare workers since the pandemic struck,” said the Health Ministry.

The 1,216 new cases are distributed by counties as follows: Nairobi 439, Mombasa 250, Kilifi 63, Kiambu 59, Taita Taveta 52, Nyeri 41, Uasin Gishu 38, Laikipia 32, Kisumu 30, Kajiado 24, Kakamega 24, Kitui 22, Siaya 20, Machakos 19, Bungoma 17, Meru 14, Nandi 11, Tana River 10, Garissa 9, Homabay 8, Kisil 8, Nakuru 6, Kirinyaga 5, Murang’a 3, Elgeyo Marakwet 2, Turkana 1, Nyandarua 1, Nyamira 1, Trans Nzoia 1, Kwale 1, Migori 1, West Pokot 1 and Makueni 1.

In terms of Sub County Distribution; the 439 cases in Nairobi, are from Kibra (96), Lang’ata (68), Dagoretti North (55), Westlands (29), Mathare (24), Ruaraka (23), Starehe (22) Embakasi West (19), Dagoretti South (18), Embakasl North and Kamukunji (16) cases each, Embakasi East (12), Kasarani, and Roysambu (10) cases each, Makadara (9), Embakasi Central (8) and Embakasi South (4).

In Mombasa, the 250 cases are from Mvita (82), Kisauni (52), Likoni (49), Jomvu (31), Nyali (20) and Changamwe (16). In Kilifi the 63 cases are from Kaloleni and Malindi (25) cases each, Kilifi North (10) and Kilifi South (3). In Kiambu the 59, cases are from Ruiru (19), Kikuyu (13), Kiambu Town (11), Kiambaa (5), Juja (4), Thika (3), Limuru (2), Kabete and Lari (1) case each.

In Taita Taveta, the 52 cases are from Taveta and Vol (21) cases each, Mwatate (10). In Nyeri the 41 cases are from Nyeri Central (38) and Mathira East (3). In Uasin Gishu, the 38 cases are from Ainabkoi (27), Turbo (8), Kapseret, Kesses and Moiben (I) case each. In Laikipia, all the 32 cases are from Laikipia East.

In Kisumu, the 30 cases are from Kisumu Central (14), Muhoroni (6), Kisumu East (5), Kisumu West and Nyakach (2) cases each, Nyando (1). In Kajiado, the 24 cases are from Kajiado North (11), Kajiado east (8), Kajiado Central (4) and Loitokitok (1). In Kakamega, the 24 cases are from Lurambi (8), Mumias West (6), Navakholo (5), Shinyalu (3) and Ilatungu (2).

In Kitui, the 22 cases are from Kitui West (10), Kitui Central (8), Kitui East and Mwingi Central (2) cases each. In Siaya the 20 cases are from Gem (7), Alego usonga (6), Rarieda (4), Siaya, Ugenya and Ugunja (1) case each. In Machakos, the 19 cases are from Athi River (12), Yatta (4) and Machakos Town (3). In Bungoma, the 17 cases are from Kanduyi and Kimilili (5) cases each, Kabuchai (3), Webuye East (2), Mt Elgon and Webuye West (1) case each.

In Meru, the 14 cases are from Imenti North (6), Imenti South and T:gania West (3) cases each, Buuri (2). In Nandi, the 11 cases are from Emgwen (9), Chesumei and Mosop (1) case each.

In Tana River, the 10 cases are from Garsen (7) and Gable (3). In Garissa the 9 cases are from Dadaab (8) and Garissa Town (1). In Homabay, the 8 cases are from Homabay Town (5), Rachuonyo South (2) and Ndiwa (1). In Kisii, all the 8 cases are from Kitutu Chache South. In Nakuru the 6 cases are from Nakuru east (4) and Naivasha (2).

In Kirinyaga, the 5 cases are from Kirinyaga Central (4) and Kirinyaga North (1). In Murang’a all the 3 cases are from Maragua. In Elgeyo Marakwet, all the 2 cases are from Keiyo North while the 2 cases in Vihiga are from Vihiga Town.

The case in Turkana, is from Turkana West, the case in Nyandarua, is from Kinangop, the case in Nyamira, is from Manga, the case in Trans Nzoia, is from Saboti, the case in Kwale, is from Msambweni, the case in Migori, is from Rongo, the case in West Pokot, is from West Pokot and the case in Makueni, is from Makueni.

latest stories