13 Cabinet Secretaries dropped as President names new cabinet

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Friday released his new Cabinet that will help his Jubilee administration achieve what he terms as his “Big Four”.

In a surprise statement from State House, Nairobi President Kenyatta unveiled his new Cabinet Secretaries.

“As I stated in my New Year’s address that in the following weeks I will be naming men and women who will join me in delivering our promises to Kenyans, today I wish to name a few whom I wish to join me in working together to fulfill our agenda to fellow Kenyans,” he said.

Here’s the list:

Retained Cabinet Secretaries

National Treasury -Henry Rotich

Tourism CS – Najib Balala

Interior Coordination of Government/Acting Education CS – Matiang’i

Transport and Infrastructure Development- James Macharia

Energy CS- Charles Keter

Information Communiction and Technology-Joseph Mucheru.

Cabinet Secretaries in limbo

Foreign Affairs- Amina Mohamed

Sports, Culture and Arts – Hassan Wario

Mining – Dan Kazungu

Water and Irrigation – Eugene Wamalwa

Public Service and Youth Affairs – Secily Kariuki

Devolution – Mwangi Kiunjuri

Industry, Trade and Cooperation – Adan Mohamed

Environment and Natural Resources – Judy Wakhungu

Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries – Willy Bett

Health – Cleopa Mailu

Labour and East Africa Affairs – Phyllis Kandie

Defense – Raychelle Omamo

Land, Housing and Urban Development – Jacob Kaimenyi


Head of Public Service – Joseph Kinyua (Retained)

Deputy Head of Public Service – Wanyama Musiambo

Chief of Staff and Head of Presidential Delivery Unit – Nzioka Waita

Comptroller of State House – Kinuthia Mbugua


Cabinet Secretaries nominees – John Munyes, Ukur Yatani, Keriako Tobiko

Ambassador to the Kingdom of the Netherlands – Mr. Lawrence Lenayapa.

National Police Service Appointments in acting capacity

Edward Njoroge Mbugwa – Ag. Deputy Inspector General, Kenya Police Service

Noor Yarao Gabao – Ag. Inspector General, Administration Police Service

George Kinoti Maingi – Ag. Directorate of Criminal Investigations.


latest stories