12 more people dead as Kenya records 492 new COVID-19 cases

12 more people dead as Kenya records 492 new COVID-19 cases

Twelve more patients have succumbed to the coronavirus disease in the country raising he fatality to 1,039.

This is even as 492 other people tested positive for the virus, from a sample size of 3,728 tested in the last 24 hours, bringing to 57,093 the number of confirmed positive cases in the country.

“Our cumulative tests are now 708,333. From the cases 474 are Kenyans and 18 are foreigners. In terms of gender 292 are males and 200 females. The youngest is a one-year old baby, while the oldest is 88,” said Ministry of Health, in a statement issued on Tuesday.

At the same time, 404 patients have recovered from the disease, 246 from the Home-Based Care Program, while 158 have been discharged from various hospitals. Total recoveries now stand at 37,846.

Currently, there are 1,289 patients admitted in various health facilities countrywide, while 4,921 are on Home Based Isolation and Care. 54 patients are in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU), 25 of whom are on ventilatory support and 29 on supplemental oxygen.

“Another 78 patients are separately on supplementary oxygen out of whom 68 are in the general wards, while 10 are in the High Dependency Unit (HDU),” added the Health Ministry.

The 492 new cases are distributed across the counties as follows: Nairobi 226, Mombasa 70, Kiambu 34, Machakos 22, Kajiado 17, Uasin Gishu 16, Kwale 13, Kilifi 11, Meru 10, Nakuru 9, Laikipia 7, Kisumu 7, Mandera 7, Samburu 6, Narok 4, Nyeri 3, Murang’a 3, Vihiga 3, Kericho 3, Kakamega 2, Embu 2, Kisii 2, Kirinyaga 2, Bungoma 2, Nandi 2, Isiolo 2, Taita Taveta 2, Tharaka Nithi 2 and Migori 2.

In terms of Sub County Distribution; the 226 cases in Nairobi, are from Lang’ata (29), Starehe (24), Dagoretti North (21), Westlands (21), Mathare (16), Roysambu (15), Kamukunji (14), Kasarani (13), Kibra (12) Dagoretti South, Embakasi East, Embakasi South and Embakasi West (10), Embakasi North and Ruaraka (9) cases each, Embakasi Central (2) and Makadara (1).

In Mombasa, the 70 cases are from Mvita (48), Nyali (14), Jomvu (7) and Likoni (1). In Kiambu, the 34 cases are from Kiambaa (8), Kiambu Town and Ruiru (7) cases each, Kikuyu (4), Juja and Thika (3) cases each, Gatundu South and Lail (1) case each.

In Machakos, the 22 cases are from Athi River (9), Machakos Town (8), Matungulu (3), Kathiani and Masinga with (1) case each. In Kajiado, the 17 cases are from Kajiado East (12) and Kajiado North (5).

In Uasin Gishu, the 16 cases are from Kesses (6), Kapseret (5), Ainabkoi (4) and Moiben (1). In Kwale, the 13 cases are from Msambweni (12) and Lunga Lunga (I). In Kilifi, the 11 cases are from Malindi (7) and Magarini (4). In Meru, the 10 cases are from Imenti North (5), Imenti South (4) and Buuri (1). In Nakuru, the 9 cases are from Nakuru East (5), Gilgil, Naivasha, Nakuru West and Njoro (1) case each.

The 7 cases in Laikipia, are from Laikipia West (5) and Laikipia East (2). All the 7 cases in Kisumu, are from Kisumu Central, and the 7 cases in Mandera, are from Mandera East (5), Mandera South and Mandera West (1) case each.

In Samburu, all the 6 cases are from Samburu Central. In Narok, all the 4 cases are from Transmara West. The 3 cases in Nyeri, are from Mathira East (2) and Tetu (1), the 3 cases in Murang’a, 3 are from Kiharu (2) and Kandara (1). The 3 cases in Vihiga, are from Hamisi, Sabatia and Vihiga (1) case each, while the 3 cases in Kericho, are from Ainamoi (2) and Kipkelion East (1).

The 2 cases in Kakamega, are all from Matungu, all the 2 cases in Embu, are from Manyatta, the 2 cases in Kisii, are from Bonchari and Kitutu Chache South with (1) case each, all the 2 cases in Kirinyaga, are from Kirinyaga West, all the 2 cases in Bungoma, are from Kanduyi, the 2 cases in Nandi, are from Chesumei and Emgwen with (1) case each, all the 2 cases in Isiolo, are from Isiolo Town.

All the 2 cases in Taita Taveta, are from Voi, all the 2 cases in Tharaka Nithi, are from Chuka, and the 2 cases in Migori, are from Rongo and Suna East (1) case each.