Three counties freeze new development plans around Konza metropolis area

The county governments of Machakos, Makueni and Kajiado have suspended the issuance of new development permits in the area falling within the ten-kilometer radius around the Konza technopolis for a period of 90 days.

In a joint statement issued on Tuesday, the three counties said the decision was to enable a newly constituted inter-county joint physical and land use planning committee to develop a plan to provide for regulated development within the zone.

The plan will provide basic guidelines and standards for the regulation of land use practices and general development while controlling activities for the respective counties bordering the technopolis.

It will also guide developers and property owners on acceptable standards.

Interior Cabinet Secretary Dr. Fred Matiang’i has lauded the move noting that this will offer value to investors around the Konza special planning zone.

Konza Technopolis Development Authority (KoTDA) and the Israel embassy in Kenya recently partnered to host an innovation challenge to address technology driven needs of the Technopolis.

The challenge dubbed “Konza Innovation Challenge” targets innovations in response to the advancement of Konza Technopolis, that will utilize technology to power the City’s smart ambitions.

latest stories